top of page

Communi-T as a Staff Member…


The thing I most frequently get asked regarding Communi-T is “How did you know these people would come?”

In truth, I didn’t. None of the founders did. We just identified a demographic who had a need but no provision of support for that need, and went on to birth this idea of a support group which would be a more social take on support.

Another question I get asked a lot is “Why do it?”

It is extremely rewarding to be part of the change that can turn a person’s life around for the better. This may claim to be gratuitous, sure. But nothing is truly selfless. This gives me a purpose too, and this purpose is to be the friend that people want or need. I have met some amazing people at Communi-T, and have been able to get to know existing friends much more honestly and deeply. I would pose the question “If you can, why not?” in response to “Why?”, because this world is often a pretty bad place. So be a light for someone else. I mean, clearly, it’s needed since we have quite a few more members than I would’ve ever anticipated.

I also benefit from the group as a member, and though my gender identity is not something that is publicly spoken about, I feel as though in the spirit of the group and this blog that I can do so. I’m a fem non-binary dude. Confused? Well me too. That’s why I benefit, because even though I can’t pinpoint my place on the spectrum of gender, it doesn’t matter there. The strange thing is being a member, younger than a lot of people who attend as members, and yet commanding a certain level of respect as a staff member. That dynamic could be awkward, but it never is. Everyone is so mature, and it’s a great thing.

So. Confusions aside, Communi-T really has filled a void in my life, and I’m grateful to all members and staff for providing a group membership to run, and for founding the group in the first place. I would be a very lonely person without them.

bottom of page